Five Finger Death Punch – The Wrong Side Of Heaven and the Righteous Side of Hell

five finger death punch album review

One of my favorite bands is Five finger Death Punch.  They are amazing song writers, great musicians and their lead singer Ivan Moody has some of the best vocals in hard rock/metal today.  With that being said, they are releasing the first of a 2 volume series of albums titled “The Wrong Side of Heaven And The Righteous Side of Hell” on July 30th and we here at Midwest Music Scene were lucky enough to get an early listen.  I can tell you that this is the band’s best album to date.  There are so many great songs on this album and it is one to listen to from front to back with nothing to be missed or skipped over.  The album kicks off with the lead single “Lift Me Up” that is tearing up the charts on radio right now featuring the great Rob Halford of Judas Priest.  So if you have been living in a hole for the last month and haven’t heard this track yet then you need to check this one out.  It’s one of my favorite singles the band has ever released and a perfect way to kick off this album.  Coming up next with a short acoustic intro is what I’m sure will be a fan favorite, “Watch You Bleed”.  After that short acoustic intro we get a huge scream from Mr. Ivan Moody leading right into that heavy FFDP riffage we all have grown to know and love.  Next is “You” and the vocals on this track are so fast I can’t wait to see them pull this one off live!  “Wrong Side of Heaven” is what you can consider the title track and the first ballad on the album.  Anytime Moody is singing over toned down guitar you just know it’s going to be a great track.  His vocals are amazing and his ability to write such relatable lyrics is astounding and both are shown off here in a perfect way. “Burn MF” is the next track and from what I have seen Ivan was really pissed off when he wrote this song and it shows in a big way.  This is such an angry song and really calls back to their roots, “Way of the Fist” style!  Next is “ I.M. Sin” which features Max Cavalera, best known for his work with metal heavyweights Sepultura.  What’s really cool about this track is that Cavalera sings his parts in Portuguese and it really adds something special to this song.  “Anywhere But Here”  features Maria Brink from In This Moment.  Ivan and Maria play off each other so well here and the duet really makes this a standout track and something I hope to see more of in FFDP’s future!  “Dot Your Eyes” is what I hope to see as a future single and hopefully the song they open their live shows with.  This is such a KILLER song and that opening riff from Zoltan Bathory and Jason Hook is infectious!  This song will for sure be a live favorite, I can just imagine a crowd going insane and singing along to the chorus with Ivan “I’ll dot your eyes and cross your fucking teeth!”.  So of course coming from the creative mind of Ivan Moody he thought it would be badass to change Dot Your I’s and Cross Your T’s to Dot Your Eyes and Cross Your Teeth and it works amazingly.  Another one of my favorites on the album is “M.I.N.E”.  This is one of the best ballads the band has ever written, probably my second favorite to “Remember Everything” from American Capitalist.  The song has amazing lyrics and is sure to strike home with anyone who has a heart. I hope to be hearing this one live with just Jason and Ivan with an acoustic guitar.  The second to last track really shows the balls this band has, a cover of LL Cool J’s “Momma said Knock You Out” but this isn’t your ordinary cover.  No, this features rapper Tech N9ne!  This cover is BADASS in every way possible.  They used Tech perfectly and the theme of this song really fits the band.  Glad to see someone branching out and doing something so original!  The last track on the album is mostly an instrumental with Ivan speaking over part of it, “Diary of a Deadman”.  Great instrumentals here as the band never ceases to amaze me with their musicianship.  Jeremy Spencer is one of the best drummers out there, Chris Kael is a beast to watch live and we already know Zoltan and Jason make one of the best guitar duo’s to ever happen.

Do yourself a HUGE favor and pick up this monster of an album.  They have struck gold here and I have faith that this will be the bands first of many future platinum album’s.  Also check the band out on the “Wrong Side of Heaven” tour this fall with Escape The fate, Miss May I and newcomers Gemini Syndrome.    HUGE 5/5    (by David Rader)

Five Finger Death Punch album review

five finger death punch album review


28 Responses to “Five Finger Death Punch – The Wrong Side Of Heaven and the Righteous Side of Hell”

  1. Scott Korrs says:

    Great review! Can’t wait to hear the whole album!

  2. Ron C says:

    Five Finger Death Punch is bad ass!!!!!!!

  3. Lane Mack says:

    Five Finger Death Punch is da BOMB!!!!!!

  4. Sean says:


  5. Allen says:

    My favorite band! I better win the signed copy!!!! :)

  6. Corey D says:

    Killer review! Sure the album is badass!

  7. Michael says:

    Best band in the world BITCHES!!! Now give me my signed cd! Ha!

  8. Madison says:

    I haven’t had the chance to listen to all of their new songs on the album yet, but what I have heard on the radio was pretty amazing! FFDP is never a let down!

  9. Terry says:

    Not many comments yet, maybe I have a shot at this. I really want the signed cd!!! 5FDP ROCKS!

  10. Matt says:

    FFDP is where it’s at! Love their unique, hardcore sound! I will definitely being snagging a new album. Great review guys, keep them coming!

  11. Joseph says:

    Awesome review! I’m looking forward to hearing the new Five Finger Death Punch cd and catching them on their upcoming tour! Thanks MMS for the awesome reviews and awesome photos! I’m really digging your site!

  12. John says:


  13. Everett says:

    Can’t wait to listen to the new album! I know it’s gonna rock!!!!

  14. Bobby Neighbors says:


  15. Kristyn says:

    Love this band!! Can’t wait to hear the new album!!!

  16. Brad says:

    need this album!

  17. Nicholas says:

    love FFDP! hook me up!!

  18. Al says:

    Awesome review! !! Can’t wait to hear the cd!!

  19. Richard P. says:

    Really broke here so I need a FREE copy! LOL. Love me some 5FDP!!!

  20. Carla says:

    So ready for the new album and tour! Gonna buy it anyway but the signed copy would be sweet.

  21. Eric Wells says:

    Love the review. Never really liked the band before, but after reading this, it may seem that I might be won over by this album. Cannot wait to hear it

  22. Eric Wells says:

    Awesome review. Never liked them at all but after reading this review and hearing the new single, I think I might be won over by this album. Cannot wait to hear it.

  23. Jackson says:

    Hell yeah, bring on some FFDP!

  24. Felipe says:

    This is going to be one of the top albuns in 2013 for sure… and I want a CD heheh

  25. Josh-Todd says:

    I surely hope this album satisfies me long enough to wait for volume 2!

  26. Marshall says:

    Cant wait to hear ths album tomorrow! I want one!

  27. Brent says:

    Great album!! FFDP for President!!

  28. Chris says:

    Super stoked to finally hear some new FFDP!